14 African States Agree to Reject Israel’s Membership in the African Union

Spread the love
The 34th ordinary session of the African Union Summit. (Photo: via Social Media)

Algerian and international media outlets have reported that Algeria has officially begun forming an African block to reject Israel’s membership in the African Union.

The online newspaper Rai Al-Youm reported that South Africa, Tunisia, Eritrea, Senegal, Tanzania, Niger, ‌ the Comoro Islands, Gabon, Nigeria, Zimbabwe, Liberia, and Seychelles have all agreed with the decision.

The newspaper cited recent reports by Algeria’s Al Waqi’ channel.


Rai Al-Youm further wrote that Algerian Foreign Minister Ramtane Lamamra is expected to discuss the issue of Israel’s membership in the African Union in his upcoming trips to the four African countries of Tunisia, Ethiopia, Sudan and Egypt.

Lamamra has stressed that these diplomatic moves are in fact a reaction to Tel Aviv’s membership in the African Union as an observer member and that this is a development that Israeli diplomats have been working on for years.


Lamamra noted that Israel had previously gained membership as an observer in the Organization of African Unity, but in 2002, the title was taken back from the regime as the African Union replaced the Organization of African Unity.

The Israeli Foreign Ministry said in a statement on July 22 that Adamsu Alali, Tel Aviv’s ambassador to Addis Ababa, had submitted his credentials as an observer member of the African Union.

(WAFA, PC, Social Media)

Post Disclaimer

Disclaimer: 14 African States Agree to Reject Israel’s Membership in the African Union - Views expressed by writers in this section are their own and do not necessarily reflect Latheefarook.com point-of-view

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *